SOUTH PORTLAND, ME — Twelve Maine community college students received scholarships in honor of Leon A. Gorman, the longtime president and CEO of L.L.Bean., for the 2024-25 academic year.

The students were celebrated May 7 in an online event with Gorman family members and L.L.Bean leadership.

This is the ninth year that the scholarship has been given. It supports three students at Southern Maine Community College, two each at Central Maine Community College, Eastern Maine Community College and Kennebec Valley Community College; and one at Northern Maine Community College, Washington County Community College and York County Community College.

Each of the 12 scholars will receive an award of $4,000, which equals more than a full year of tuition at a Maine community college. Scholars that receive the Free College Scholarship will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

The 2024 scholars are:

Mahdi Saidi (Auburn), Automotive Technology, Central Maine Community College;
Victoria Wile (Gray), Building Construction Technology, Central Maine Community College;
Corey Brown (Orono), Liberal Studies, Eastern Maine Community College;
Ashlee Goodwin (Eddington), Criminal Justice, Eastern Maine Community College;
Mya Seda Libby (Palermo), Health Science & Nursing, Kennebec Valley Community College;
Karen Winfree (Fairfield), Psychology, Kennebec Valley Community College;
Ethan Thibeault (Mapleton), Diesel Hydraulics, Northern Maine Community College;
Emily Granholm (Winthrop), Marine Science, Southern Maine Community College;
Tyler Lafontaine (Bridgton), Communications and New Media, Southern Maine Community College;
Jacqueline McCurry (Biddeford), Human Services, Southern Maine Community College;
Heather Townsend (Pembroke), Liberal Studies & Health Occupations, Washington County Community College; and
Carla Samano Lopez (North Yarmouth), Veterinary Technology, York County Community College.


Check out upcoming area events!

Comments are not available on this story.