After causing multiple rainouts earlier this season, Mother Nature made up for it this weekend at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The track hosted two days of racing to make up for past postponements. Regular Saturday-night Oxford Championship Series competition took place at its scheduled time, and then all the divisions were in action Sunday.

Austin Teras captured the first 50-lap Super Late Model feature of the weekend. The part-time competitor who won multiple times at the track last year returned to victory lane, with a pair of early-season points championship contenders in Scott McDaniel and Steven Chicoine joining him on the podium.

Other winners Saturday included: Jordan Russell (Limiteds and Street Stocks), Adam Stearns (Mad Bombers), Alex Mowatt (Thunder Stocks) and Jaxson Moreside (Rookies).

The Wicked Good Vintage Racing Association visited Saturday night, with Matt Gosley winning the Outlaws feature and Dave Foster topping the field in the Hobby division.

Brandon Varney turned his fortunes around Sunday. The SLM rookie placed 21st out of 24 starters Saturday, but at the end of Sunday’s 50-lap feature, the Auburn native captured his first win of the season and second of his career. Both have come while wheeling the car normally driven by Varney’s car owner, Dennis Spencer Jr.


Dominic Curit was Sunday’s runner-up, and Calvin Rose Jr. rounded out the podium. Teras finished fifth in the 19-car field.

Jordan Russell made it a weekend sweep in the Limiteds division. He settled for a fifth-place finish in Sunday’s Street Stocks feature, which was won by Billy Childs Jr., who was runner-up to Russell on Saturday. Brandon Johnson, who placed third in Saturday’s feature, slotted behind Childs in second Sunday.

Among Sunday’s other winners were: Corey Morgan (Mad Bombers), Thomas Richards (Thunder Stocks), Liz Newton (Rookies), Adam Oneil (Rebels) and Matt Morneau (Cruisers).

The track also hosted a 50-lap enduro, with Zach Audet conquering the 32-car field.


Mike Hopkins won his second straight Coastal 200 at Wiscasset Speedway on Sunday.

That was the spotlight race of a slate that also included three other feature races.

Adam Chadbourne added to his career trophy haul at the track by winning the Coastal Mod 50 Modifieds race, Jase Mongeon won the 25-lap Bob Weymouth Memorial race for the visiting NELCAR legends car series, and Dan McKeage Jr. captured the checkered flag for the 35-lap Strictly Streets division feature.

Comments are no longer available on this story