WASHINGTON (AP) – The White House announced Wednesday that the state of Maine and municipalities in 10 counties are eligible for federal disaster relief aid because of severe winter cold and frost.

Funding is available for eligible local governments in Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, and Washington counties, officials said.

Affected municipalities are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved costs of repairing or replacing public facilities damaged by severe winter since December 17. Money is also available for hazard mitigation measures.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said that damage surveys are continuing, and additional counties may eventually be added to the list of areas eligible for assistance.

AP-ES-05-14-03 2101EDT

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.