NEWRY – The Maine Elks Association announced the winners of the Elks Most Valuable Student Scholarships at the association’s annual state convention at the Sunday River Resort.

Seven high schools seniors from across the state were awarded four-year scholarships of $1,000 each year, made possible through the Elks National Foundation. The students also qualified to compete at the national level, with the potential of receiving a four-year scholarship for as much as $60,000.

Receiving scholarships were:

Blaine Trafton, representing the Bath Elks Lodge; Vanessa Layton, Greater Ellsworth Elks Lodge; Leah Schrader, Farmington Elks Lodge; Sarah Upton, Bangor Elks Lodge; Crystal Nadeau, Portland Elks Lodge; Dustin Rabideau, Sanford Elks Lodge; David Buzanoski, Sebasticook Valley Elks Lodge.

Several district winners were also announced. These are: Caleb Canders of Bangor High School, Rebecca Fortier of Bangor Christian School, Joseph Maher Jr. of Leavitt Area High School, Michelle Macfarland of Erskine Acadamy, Kyle O’Donnell of Gorham High School and Jennifer Gagner of Sanford High School. Each will be awarded a one-year scholarship of $1,900. A total of 21 other lodge scholarships of $885 each were awarded.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.