AUBURN – The Taylor Pond Yacht Club will hold a business-to-business after-hours event from 5 to 7 p.m. Thursday, July 1, at the facility off Perkins Hill Road. It will include tours of the facilities and refreshments. For more information, call Peter Bunker at 782-0106.

Schoolhouse open

POLAND – The Poland Historical Society announces that the Old Schoolhouse will be open to the public this summer from 1 to 4 p.m. Wednesdays. The schedule will run from June 30 to Aug. 25.

The Schoolhouse is located at 1229 Maine St. (Route 26) next to the Town Office. The society moved into the schoolhouse last summer and has been holding its meetings there since September.

Members have spent the winter working on exhibits relating to Poland’s history. Members will be available to answer questions and give a tour of the facility.

Acoustic war

LISBON – As part of the Moxie Weekend festivities in Lisbon, the Lisbon Teen Center announces an “Acoustic War” in the tradition of Battle of the Bands. Area high school bands are invited to show their stuff beginning at 6:30 p.m. Friday, July 9. Prizes will include a professionally mastered demo CD and studio time. all the Teen Center at 353-3010 to sign up.

Bridge winners

LEWISTON – The Lewiston-Auburn Social Bridge Club winners at the MultiPurpose Center on June 21 were: N/S, first, Anna Vitiello and Randy Silver; second, Ellie and Lindy Wigton; third, Claire Tewhey and Charles Bartlett; fourth, Joann Morris and Janice Wolfe.

E/W, first, Sharon Tyler and Paul Pierce; second, Marta Clements and Nancy Farmer; third, Eileen Potvin and Della Starbird; fourth, Alberta Turner and Connie Simpson; first in C, Judy Abromson and Beverly Dolan.

Games are played at 9 a.m. every Monday, a mini-lesson is given, and a partner is guaranteed. Call Rosemarie Goodwin at 783-1734 for more information.

The quarterly Club Championship will be played on Monday, June 28.

The Lewiston-Auburn Duplicate Bridge Club met on June 22 at the Multi-Purpose Center. Winners in Flight A were: first, David Lock and Patricia Garcia; second, Mike Quinn and Lucille Theriault; third, Richard Allen and Martha Young; fourth, Jeanine Kivus and Martine Begert; fifth, Marlene Violette and Alberta Turner.

Winners in Flight B were: first, Richard Allen and Martha Young; second, Marlene Violette and Alberta Turner. Flight C winners were Charles Bartlett and Allie Boyer. The club championship will be held on Tuesday, June 29, at the Multi-Purpose Center. A partner is guaranteed.

The club met June 23 at Schooner Estates in Auburn. Winners in Flight A were: first, Doug and Betty Sise; second, Patricia Garcia and Rosemarie Goodwin: third, Tom Seder and Lucille Theriault. Winners in Flight B were: first, Doug and Betty Sise; second, Ron and Connie Reynolds.

The club championship game will be held at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 3, at Schooner. For more information and/or a partner, call Lucille Theriault at 783-0431.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.