LEWISTON – Community volunteers from Androscoggin County have been developing plans for the 2004 United Way of Androscoggin County Campaign.

Mark Anthoine, 2004 campaign chairman and principal of Healey and Associates in Auburn, is chairing the campaign for a second year. He will oversee the campaign cabinet’s fund-raising efforts while helping to develop strategies to increase communications to the community on how the contributions help people in need.

The United Way Campaign Cabinet is comprised of community volunteers who chair divisions that include businesses throughout Androscoggin County. Several volunteers have agreed to participate in the cabinet for a second year to maintain continuity in managing divisions.

The division chairs provide leadership and guidance to loaned executives and United Way staff in managing the thousands of companies within the divisions.

Anthoine said, “The cabinet volunteers bring a wealth of experience and talent to the Campaign Cabinet, as well as their knowledge about businesses in Androscoggin County and the social service needs of people and families in Androscoggin County. Their involvement in the community enhances United Way’s fund-raising efforts by bringing a personal connection to many businesses and employees that support United Way.”

The Education Division includes local public and private schools and colleges. Francine Anstey of Turner chairs the division.

The Commerce Division, the largest in the cabinet, consists of construction, automobile sales, service and transportation, manufacturing, media, distributors and retail stores. It is chaired by Jeff Gosselin of Peoples Bank and Marc Paquette of Androscoggin Bank.

The Nonprofit Division consists of participating agencies within United Way, as well as other nonprofit organizations in the area. It is chaired by Betsy Norcross-Plourde of Advocates for Children.

The Local Government Division includes all of the cities and towns in Androscoggin County, as well as county government and quasi-governmental agencies. Chairing the division is Dottie Perham-Whittier from the city of Lewiston.

The Finance, Insurance and Real Estate Division, chaired by Roxanne Salatino of Fleet Bank, consists of banking, real estate agencies and real estate agents.

The Professionals Division includes architects and engineers, accounting firms, law offices, clergy and legislative representatives. Chairing are David Wightman of Austin Associates and Marc Frenette from Skelton, Taintor and Abbott.

The Health Care Division consists of medical centers, physicians, chiropractors, psychiatrists and counselors, dentists, ophthalmologists and optometrists, and nursing homes. Kathryn Davis from Sisters of Charity Health Systems is serving as this year’s chairwoman.

Janet Bishop of White Rock Distilleries and Fred Bishop of Nason Mechanical Systems will return as chairpersons for the United Way Leaders’ Circle Division. The Leaders’ Circle consists of individuals who support the fund-raising efforts with an annual donation of $500 or more.

For more information about the United Way or to find out about methods to donate and how contributions help the residents of Androscoggin County, call 795-4000 or visit the Web www.unitedwayandro.org.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.