AUGUSTA – Sarah Sutter, an art teacher at Wiscasset High School, and Eric Chamberlain, an eighth-grade social studies teacher at Boothbay Region Elementary School, are Maine’s 2004 Instructional Technology Educators of the Year.

Two additional educators, Nancy Naimey, a grades one and two teacher at Consolidated School of the Kennebunks, and Randy Dehetre, technology integration teacher for the Lewiston School Department, were named runners-up in the competition.

The annual prize, sponsored by the Association of Computer Technology Educators of Maine, honors innovative teachers who use technology to impact teaching and student learning.

The top two educators each receive $2,000 cash and another $1,000 for their schools to be spent on technology. The runners-up each receive $500 cash.

The announcement was made Oct. 15 at the opening of the MAINEducation ’04 educational technology conference at the Augusta Civic Center.

Now in its 16th year, it is the largest gathering focusing on grades kindergarten through 12 instructional technology in the state.

According to Gary Lanoie, president, the candidates’ applications were reviewed on four categories: impact on staff, impact on students, level of integration and assessment.

Sutter’s and Chamberlain’s applications, he said, “described scenarios of consistent and seamless integration of technology across their entire teaching practice, the ability to think outside the box and the ability to share and show leadership, all while keeping assessment and standards always in mind.”

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.