FARMINGTON – Franklin County Soil and Water Conservation District held its 57th annual meeting April 8 at Mt. Blue High School when awards were given out.

Certificates and awards were presented to Conservation Poster Contest winners by Pam Harnden, district chairwoman; Thayden Farrington, district supervisor; and Henry Hardy, associate supervisor. Harnden welcomed everyone, Linton Robinson, associate supervisor, gave the invocation, which was followed by a buffet-style dinner cooked and served by the Mt. Blue cafeteria staff.

After dinner, other conservation awards were presented. Paul Hersey, NRCS district conservationist, and Bruce Tracy, district supervisor, presented certificates to Earth Team and district volunteers. The conservation educator of the year plaque was presented to Nini Christensen by associate supervisor Ellen James. After Christensen told the audience about her work in the Rangeley Lakes Regional School, Tracey then presented a plaque to the logger of the year, Sam Gordon. Peter Tracy gave some background information on the work Gordon has been doing.

The awards presentations ended with Fred Hardy, district supervisor, presenting Dennis and Sara Wilk with the outstanding conservation farm of the year plaque and sign for their 171 acre farm, “The King & I Angus Farm” in Industry.

Ryan Burton was the winner of the special drawing and Jerry Whitney, the 50/50 raffle.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.