STORRS, Conn. (AP) – Connecticut coach Geno Auriemma leads the list of those to be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame this spring.

The other inductees are former Texas All-American Clarissa Davis-Wrightsil, Louisiana Tech star Janice Lawrence Braxton, former Georgia All-American Katrina McClain Johnson, Bentley College coach Barbara Stevens and Brazilian Olympian Maria Paula Goncalves da Silva, a person with firsthand knowledge of the induction process told The Associated Press on the condition of anonymity.

The class will be officially announced on Sunday during the women’s basketball Tipoff Classic at Texas Tech.

Induction ceremonies are April 28-29 at the Knoxville, Tenn.-based hall. It will be the eighth class inducted.

Previous inductees include Tennessee coach Pat Summitt, Texas coach Jody Conradt, former Louisiana Tech coach Leon Barmore and former players Ann Meyers (UCLA), Nancy Lieberman (Old Dominion) and Cheryl Miller (USC).

To be eligible, coaches must have at least 20 years’ experience in the women’s game and players have to be retired for at least five years.

Auriemma, through a spokesman, declined comment Tuesday.

“We have no comment because we haven’t been officially notified,” UConn spokesman Randy Press said.

The class was reported on the Web site of the Hartford Courant on Tuesday.

Auriemma, in his 21st season at UConn, has a 557-111 record and has coached the Huskies to five national championships and seven Final Fours. The Huskies open the 2005-06 season Saturday at home against Marist in the first round of the Women’s National Invitation Tournament.

On the Web:

Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame:

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.