LEWISTON – The Longley-Dionne Post 9150, Veterans of Foreign Wars, recently presented middle school Patriot’s Pen essay awards to Shana A. Eliasen, first; Hanan M. Ahmed, second; and Morgan C. Hubbard, third.

Each student received a check and certificate and their essays were forwarded to the District VFW for judging.

Awards were also presented to winners of the high school Voice of Democracy scholarship essays. Winners were: first, Nicole Bussiere; second, Amanda Russell; and third, Nicole Kearns. Each student received a check and certificate.

The VFW Post members said the Lewiston High School, Air Force Junior ROTC staff promoted the Voice of Democracy program.

A special award was presented to teacher Sue Reny, Lewiston Middle School. Reny was selected as Teacher of the Year for her dedication and devotion to the youth essay program.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.