PORTLAND – Maine College of Art will host the 2006 Regional Scholastic Art Awards until Saturday, Jan. 21, in the Porteous Building, 522 Congress St. The award ceremony will take place from 1 to 3 p.m. on that date.

The program brought 364 submissions from 305 young artists representing 11 middle schools and 52 high schools. Gold award winners will proceed to the national awards and compete for more than $1,000,000 in scholarships.

In addition, the event will honor Congressional District Art Award winners, whose work will hang in Washington, D.C., for one year.

The winner for District One is Than Nguyen of Portland High School. District Two’s winner is Megan Glass of Mount Desert Island High School.

A Web site featuring the award winning work can be found at www.meca.edu/scholastics.

Area winners are as follows:

Auburn: Timothy Stokes, Lewiston High School, silver.

Bethel: Barrett Allen, Gould Academy, gold; Aaron Bailey, Gould Academy, gold; Morgan Carver, Gould Academy, silver; Benjamin Fitzpatrick, Gould Academy, merit; Ceylon Guneyli, Gould Academy, gold.

Also, Molly Keane, Explorations Art Program, gold and merit; Katlyn Keane, Explorations Art Program, silver; Alexia Rho, Gould Academy, gold; Alexa Stark, Gould Academy, merit and silver; Eliza van Neerden, Gould Academy, silver.

Bowdoinham: Aimee Thiboutot, Mt. Ararat High School, silver.

Durham: Nicholas Kzency, Brunswick High School, merit.

Gray: Millie Moon, North Yarmouth Academy, merit; Denise Moriba, North Yarmouth Academy, merit.

Harpswell: Kathryn Kenyon, Mt. Ararat High School, merit.

Kents Hill: Saori Kaji, Kents Hill School, gold.

Lewiston: Alyson Banks, Lewiston High School, merit; Nicole Bedard, Lewiston High School, silver; Megan Beliveau, Holy Cross School, gold; Luc Collette, Lewiston High School, gold, American Visions, and silver; Anastasia Conway, Lewiston High School, silver.

Also, Bethany Flannery, Lewiston High School, two silvers; Isla Hansen, Lewiston High School, gold, American Visions, and gold; Danielle Marquis, Lewiston High School, two silvers; Peggy Matheny, Lewiston Middle School, merit; Kelsey Rodrigue, Lewiston High School, merit; Timothy Stokes, Lewiston High School, merit and silver.

Litchfield: Heather Loubier, Oak Hill High School, merit.

Monmouth: Leighann Ashlock, Monmouth Academy, silver; Surojini Braithwaite, Monmouth Middle School, merit; Kristen Cotton, Monmouth Academy, merit; Jami Emery, Monmouth Academy, merit.

North Monmouth: Edythe Morin, Monmouth Academy, merit.

Oquossoc: Justin Gallant, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, silver.

Rangeley: Raina Eustis, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, gold; Rachel Freihoff-Lewin, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, merit; Abigail Madeira, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, two golds and a silver.

Also, Ashley Morton, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, merit; Sarah Simonds, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, gold and silver; Katherine Webber, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, silver.

Topsham: Crysta Ackerman, Mt. Ararat High School, merit.

Turner: Robert Trujillo, Leavitt Area High School, gold.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.