FARMINGTON – Franklin Savings Bank’s Community Development Foundation has announced it will award 10 local students $34,000 in scholarships this spring.

The scholarships will be available to Class of 2006 students graduating from Mt. Blue High School, Mt. Abram Regional High School, Dirigo High School, Mountain Valley High School, Rangeley Lakes Regional School, Skowhegan Area High School, Madison Area Memorial High School, Jay High School and Livermore Falls High School.

Seniors who plan to pursue a major at a four-year college or university in business-related fields, such as accounting, finance, computer science or marketing, are eligible for the scholarships.

Selection criteria for the foundation scholarships is based on high academic achievement, community citizenship, participation in athletics or other extracurricular activities and financial need.

While the foundation will fund the scholarships, the recipients will be selected by their school. Applications are available at the school guidance offices, at Franklin Savings Bank locations and online at www.FranklineBranch .com/scholarship.html. Completed applications must be turned in to the school and comply with deadlines established by the school.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.