POLAND – Voters in Friday’s town election denied Ira “Ike” Levine’s bid for a third term on the School Committee.

With 194 votes, Levine came in a distant third behind Mary Ella Jones, the top vote-getter with 468, and political newcomer Scott Sawyer, who received 360 votes for the second open seat. Sawyer replaces Jack Conway, who did not run for re-election.

In a five-way race for two open positions on the Board of Selectmen, voters chose Leo Ferland Jr. with 347 votes and Erland Torrey with 276 votes to fill seats vacated by David Corcoran and Glenn Peterson, who did not run for re-election.

Finishing out of the running were Paul Harrison with 245, Mark Ferguson with 236 and Michael Merrill with 68 votes.

Ferland and Torrey are familiar faces for some Poland voters.

In years past, Ferland has served 16 years as a selectman and Torrey has served three years as selectman and has been on the Board of Appeals for 14 years.

Running unopposed, Lorrie Young received 513 votes for library trustee.

Town Clerk Judith Akers said the turnout of 627 voters was particularly heavy, about double the usual turnout.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.