The combination of fierce competitiveness and class give credence to the 2006 inductees to the Maine Amateur Wrestling Alliance Hall of Fame. The foursome utilized their skills to achieve great success on and off the mat.

The group includes three wrestlers: Brian Borkowski of Oak Hill, Bill Brochu of Cony and Jason York of Bonny Eagle. Former Camden Hills coach John Kelly will join them at the induction ceremony July 15 at the Hyde School in Bath at 6 p.m.

The four new members will increase the MAWA HOF to 45. The MAWA established in 1988.

Borkowski, Brochu and Kelly are the first-ever to be inducted, for their respective schools.

Brochu earned a reputation for always being in control on the mat. This led to three Class A state championships from 1992-94 at Cony.

Brochu was voted the most outstanding wrestler at the state meet as a sophomore. He won four Eastern regional championships and three Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference titles.

“The list cannot include the intangibles that Bill brought to the Cony team,” former Cony coach Terry Devereaux said. “He brought recognition to the Cony wrestling program, both in Augusta and across the state. Many younger wrestlers aspired to reach his level and were inspired by him. He was always a gentleman around the mat and handled both victory and defeat with grace.”

Brochu compiled a 118-12 career record, and lost two matches after freshman year. He earned All-American honors by Amateur Wrestling in 1994.

York was a two-time state champion in 1993-94, pinning every opponent at the state meet in both his junior and senior year. He was captain of an undefeated state championship team.

“Jason was always popular with faculty and students,” former coach Ted Reese said. “Jay was always a leader at Bonny Eagle. Our hardest worker, Jason was not a natural athlete, but was an intense competitor.”

York also excelled in the classroom, earning Academic All American and honorable mention All American by Wrestling USA. York wrestled at Boston University, serving as captain for two years.

He served as varsity coach at Caribou and was assistant coach at University of Southern Maine for three years. He works for a television station in Pennsylvania.

“Jason was devastating on the mat,” Reese said. “He was always a sportsman and friendly as soon as the match was over. Nor did he ever get upset at dirty wrestlers.”

Kelly produced dominate teams annually. From 1988-2002, the Windjammers compiled a record of 299-30.

During his tenure, Camden Hills won seven KVAC titles and 10 Eastern Regional crowns. Always a threat, the Windjammers won seven Class B state championships and were second four times.

Kelly was the USA coach of the year in 1998.

Mike Taylor is the MAWA Person of the Year. Taylor coaches Peewee, junior high wrestling team, and is an assistant at Mount Ararat.

Josh Pelletier of Foxcroft Academy will be honored as Wrestler of the Year. The three-time Class C state champion capped off a brilliant career by winning a New England championship.

The senior’s lone loss this past season was a one-point decision to Dave Smith of Mountain Valley. Pelletier avenged the setback, by beating Smith two weeks later.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.