VFW supper

RUMFORD – The VFW Auxiliary will hold a public spaghetti supper from 4:30 to 6 p.m. today at the Rumford VFW Hall, Waldo Street. Cost is adults, $6; age 12 and under, $2.50.

Community meal

PERU – The Families in Crisis Task Force will sponsor a community meal at noon Monday, Feb. 19, at the Peru Grange Hall. The menu will include homemade baked beans and hot dogs, soup and dessert. There is no charge for the meal, but donations are appreciated.

Class luncheon

MEXICO – The Stephens High School Class of 1946 will meet for a luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Feb. 21, at the Far East Restaurant.

Alzheimer group

RUMFORD – An Alzheimer Support Group meeting will be held from 7 to 9 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 21, at 85 Lincoln Ave., the former Armory building. For more information, call Donna Landry at 364-4561.

Sharing poems

RUMFORD – The Widows or Widowers Sharing will meet at noon Thursday, Feb. 22, in the fellowship hall of Rumford United Methodist Church, Linnell Street. The new parking lot in the back is available, with a lane left free in the upper driveway for access.

Members will each bring their own lunch, with coffee and tea provided. They are also invited to bring a favorite poem or other reading to share.

At the last meeting, the group had an exercise session with Louise Stickney. All area widow and widowers are welcome.

Society program

CARTHAGE – The Carthage Historical Society will meet on Tuesday, Feb. 20, at the Town Office following a potluck supper at 5:30 p.m. Sammi Angel will play and sing songs in memory of Donald Bradeen. All are welcome.


RUMFORD – Rumford Lodge of Elks 862 has announced its 2007 scholarship winners: first place for boys, Zachary Thibodeau; girls, Kortnee Hill. Both are students at Mountain Valley High School.

The second-place winners were Abigail Fenstermacher and Shannon Daley from Dirigo High School. First-place winners receive $800 and second place, $400. All seniors who reside within the jurisdictions of SADs 21, 43 and 44 and who are planning to further their education are eligible to apply.

The Scholarship Committee members are Lewis Irish, chairman, Mike Aube and Allan Gallant.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.