AUBURN – The mock trial team at Edward Little High School held its annual end-of-the-year banquet at the Ground Round on Jan. 16.

The young team (only three upperclassmen) won in the first round of competition and fell in a close contest with St. Dominic Regional High School in the second round. After the dinner, members were given their certificates of recognition and awards.

First-year awards went to Shawn Brackett, Mikael Heikkinen, Casey Paige, Emily Dodge, Ilana Freedman and Amanda Manton. A second-year award was given to Kim Tremblay.

Joe Griswold received his third-year award and Cam Leary wont his fourth-year award. Special recognition went to Karen Leary, the new timer/clerk for the team.

Other awards went to Emily Dodge as most promising neophyte, Joe Griswold as best witness and Cam Leary as best lawyer and most versatile team member. Leary was also awarded the trophy as the most valuable member of the team as chosen by his peers.

Lawyer coach Justin Leary addressed the team and congratulated them on their efforts during the season. The team presented gifts of appreciation to their coaches as the festivities concluded.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.