NEW ORLEANS (AP) – Hakeem Olajuwon and Patrick Ewing, who battled for NCAA and NBA titles, and Miami Heat coach Pat Riley were selected as finalists Friday for the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Holdover candidates Chris Mullin, Adrian Dantley, Dennis Johnson and Golden State coach Don Nelson also are among the 15 candidates for enshrinement.

The other candidates include: Richie Guerin and Johnny “Red” Kerr, both former players and coaches; ESPN announcer Dick Vitale; Detroit Pistons owner Bill Davidson; former Immaculata women’s coach Cathy Rush; former Duke coach Victor Bubas.

; and international committee finalists Togo Soares and Maciel Ubiratan Pereira of Brazil.

The class of 2008 will be announced April 7 before the NCAA men’s championship. The induction ceremony is set for Sept. 5 in Springfield, Mass.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.