AUBURN – Edward Little High School recently held its winter awards dinner for athletes competing in basketball, hockey, swimming, skiing, indoor track and field and cheerleading.

The boys’ basketball team was an Eastern Class A finalist, falling to Bangor in the title game. Both indoor track teams were recognized for their finishes in the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference championship meet: boys second, girls third. The girls also finished fourth in the state meet.

Individual athletes earned the following local, league or state awards:

Girls’ basketball – KVAC all-conference first team: Kirsten Prue; KVAC all-rookie team: Francesca Lally; KVAC honorable mention: Abigail Downs.

Boys’ basketball – KVAC all-academic: Benjamin Hartnett, Kyle Philbrook, Mukhtar Sharif, Matthew Tribou; KVAC all-conference first team: Kyle Philbrook, Corey Therriault; KVAC second team: Eric Prue.

Hockey – KVAC all-academic: Matthew Nyholm.

Girls’ indoor track – KVAC all-conference: Emily Dodge, Alicia Large, Carmen Lasagna, Hanna Mogensen, Danielle Paul, Muriel Schwinn; KVAC champion, 1,600 meters: Danielle Paul.

Boys’ indoor track – KVAC all-academic: Dustin Anderson; KVAC all-conference: Joshua Clark, Ryan Cyr, Kaleb Davis, Jacob Dubois, Jonathan Ford, Buddy Foss, Garrett Wyman.

Boys’ Alpine skiing – KVAC all-academic: Samuel Armstrong, Aaron Gould; KVAC all-conference first team: Samuel Armstrong, Mitchell Snowe; KVAC second team: Samuel Armstrong, Brandon Lever, Mitchell Snowe.

Girls’ Alpine skiing – KVAC all-conference first and second team: Emily Blackwood.

Boys’ Nordic skiing – KVAC all-academic: Christopher MaWhinney, Greg Merritt; KVAC all-conference: Christopher MaWhinney. MaWhinney also finished seventh and eighth in the KVAC meet and earned a spot on the Eastern High School select team.

Girls’ Nordic skiing – KVAC all-academic: Kristen Erickson, Teresa Ranucci; KVAC all-conference second team: Kristen Erickson.

Girls’ swimming – KVAC all-academic: Kelly Bernier, Meredith Byard, Renee Dufresne-Dixon, Jimin Lee, Danielle McConnell.

Boys’ swimming – KVAC all-academic: Victor Dumais, Robert Little; KVAC all-conference: Timothy Brodsky.

Cheering – KVAC all-academic: Maila Bourisk, Jessica Chouinard, Chelsea Martin; KVAC all-conference first team: Maila Bourisk, Bridgette Goulet, Kourtni Haskell, Kristen Lamiette; KVAC second team: Jessica Chouinard, Krystle Edmands, Britney Therrien.

Varsity coaches’ awards

Boys’ basketball – Coach’s award: Matthew Tribou; Spirit Award: Peter Mariner.

Girls’ basketball – Coach’s award: Abigail Downs.

Hockey – Coach’s award: Mathew Gordon; Pride, commitment and dedication: Matthew Nyholm.

Boys’ indoor track – MVP: Garrett Wyman; Coach’s award: Joshua Titus.

Girls’ indoor track – Most improved: Ashley Butler; Coach’s award: Anna Brooks; Most valuable athlete: Emily Dodge; Century Club: Emily Dodge, Muriel Schwinn, Danielle Paul.

Girls’ swimming – Most valuable swimmer: Loren Lachapelle; Outstanding team member: Kelly Bernier.

Boys’ swimming – Most valuable swimmer: Timothy Brodsky; Outstanding team member: Robert Little.

Girls’ Alpine skiing – Dedication: Megan Howes.

Boys’ Nordic skiing – MVP: Christopher MaWhinney; Coach’s award: Greg Merritt.

Girls’ Nordic skiing – MVP: Kristen Erickson; Coach’s award: Teresa Ranucci.

Cheering – Coach’s awards: Devon Chabot, Bridgette Goulet.

Coaches of the year – Scott Morrison (girls’ swimming), Tara Eretzian (boys’ and girls’ Alpine skiing), Nicole Adams (competition and basketball cheering).

Sub-varsity awards

Freshman boys’ basketball – Coach’s awards: Bowen Leary, Timothy Leary.

JV boys’ basketball – Coach’s award: Matthew Wilson.

Freshman girls’ basketball – Coach’s award: Carolina Klonoski.

JV girls’ basketball – Coach’s award: Hillary Turcotte.

JV hockey – Coach’s award: Dustin Haupt; Most improved: Scott Morrison; Most coachable: Robert Stevens.

School records

Girls’ indoor track – Emily Dodge, 55-meter hurdles, 8.97 seconds; 4×800 meter relay team of Hanna Mogensen, Alicia Large, Carmen Lasagna and Danielle Paul, 10:14.97.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.