AUGUSTA (AP) – Penobscot County has received a disaster declaration for this spring’s flooding, making it eligible for federal assistance for public expenditures associated with the flood damages.

Gov. John Baldacci said he received word Friday afternoon that President Bush had added Penobscot County to the list of six other counties – Aroostook, Knox, Lincoln, Piscataquis, Somerset and Waldo – that had already been declared eligible for public assistance.

The flooding in late April and early May caused extensive damage to homes, roads, bridges and other property in many parts of northern, central and coastal Maine.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.