MECHANIC FALLS – The Maine Ole’ Opry will hold its second induction ceremony/show at 1 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 5, at the Silver Spur Club.

The Opry was started four years ago by Joan Cole, executive director of the Pine Tree State Country Music Association Inc.

Last year, the first inductees – Bob Elston, Slim Andrews, Dennis Doiron and Stevie Cee – were named. Two new inductees, chosen from entertainers who have appeared on past shows, will be named each year. Criteria include talent, dedication, knowledge of country music and audience appreciation.

Inductees are not limited to PTSCMA members. Eligible for induction Oct. 5 are Ginger Mae Dyer, Otto Proctor, Jewel Clark, Bobby Reed, Elton & DeeDee Record, Gary Moffett, Hugh Rowley, Brian Wardwell, Kayla Wass, Paul & Ellen Dube, Russ Connell, Al Hawkes, Ev & Roseanna, Bonnie Rairdon and Erica Brown.

Performing at the show will be Bob Elston, Slim Andews, Dennis Doiron, Bonnie Rairdon, Don Nickerson, Richard Philbrook, Jewel Clark, Otto Proctor and Gary Moffett. Back-up band for the show will be the Frye Mountain Band.

Tickets are $10 at the door, $8 in advance; tickets discounted $1 for seniors and PTSCMA members. For tickets, contact Cole at 490-1232 or [email protected]; Moffett at 637-2344 or [email protected]; Mary Hamilton at 247-4611; or Ken Wentworth at 942-3264.

An Esteban acoustic/electric guitar and package will be raffled in early December. Tickets are $2 each or three for $5. For more about the PTSCMA, log on to

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.