LEWISTON – The Atrium Art Gallery at the University of Southern Maine’s Lewiston-Auburn College will present the works of more than 90 artists from Androscoggin, Franklin, and Oxford counties in the biennial exhibition, “Area Artists 2009.”

The exhibit will open Tuesday, Jan. 20, and run through March 20.

Featured are paintings, prints, drawings, photographs and works in clay, metal, and fiber. The exhibition includes work in a variety of styles from representational to abstract, with landscapes, figure studies and portraits, still lifes and sculptural work.

A reception, free and open to the public, will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 23.

The juried exhibition was open to all artists, ages 18 and over, who were allowed to submit one or two pieces in any media. The gallery received 211 works from 116 artists, out of which the jury selected 103 works from 92 artists for the final exhibition.

Jurors for the exhibition were Lois Strickland and Nancy Romines Walters. Strickland is a landscape painter with work in private and public collections. She is represented by West Island Gallery in Georgetown and Northeast Fine Art and Design in Northeast Harbor.

Nancy Romines Walters creates sculptural installations in a combination of materials, including fiber, wood, stone, metal, plastics and related works on paper. Her exhibition credits include galleries in New York City, Maine and abroad.

The Atrium Art Gallery is at USM/Lewiston-Auburn College, 51 Westminster St. Gallery hours are 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday to Thursday; from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday; and from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday. Admission is free.

For more information, contact Robyn Holman, director of exhibitions, at 753-6554 or log on to www.usm.maine.edu/lac/art.

Artists in the exhibition are Kay McKeever Allison, Marjorie Austin, Susan Bard, Alice Barnett, Len Bartel, Stephanie Berry, Jordan Berube, Alisa Ann Blundon, Mark Brandhorst, Julie Breau, Gloria Brown, Karen Campbell, Steve Carlson, Patricia Chandler, Nancy Clark, Anita Clearfield, Richard Dahlquist, Ronnie Decker, Jeanelle Demers, Mary E. Dow, Joyce Dubay, Jody Dube, Andrea Eusden, Brad Fuller, Jennifer Gammon, Julie Garvey, Ryan Connell Garvey, Anastasia Gatto and Leon Gin.

Also, Dereck Glaser, Dennis Grafflin, Lisa Graves, Penelope Hall, Ron Hamilton, Holli-Anne Harwood, Scott Hunter, Jolene Juneau, Joe Klofas, Maria Kovacs, Constance Ladd, LeeAnn LaFleur, Cindy Rehagen Langewisch, Sam Larouche, Rose Mahanor, Daniel J. Marquis, Mary McFarland, Matthew Meyer, Nathaniel Meyer, David Mireault, Liette Morin, Elke Morris, Carol Murrell, Richard Murrell, Kate Cargile Myrand, Kika Nigals, Shawn O’Connor, Karen Hand Ogg, Ian B. Ormon, Marion Osman, Arla Patch, Matthew Peinado, Gerard Pelletier, Scott Perry, Patricia Powers and Robin Priest.

And, Patricia Provencher, Domenic Ranucci, Michael Ranucci, Tom Reichard, Sheila Richardson, Ellen Roberts, Fran Rodgers, Kathryn Rogers, Kathryn Salvano, Michael Sauro, Murad Saÿen, Greg Shattenberg, Vyonne Spaar, Ulrike Stadler, Lawrence Stevens, Harold Strout, Lucia Swallow, Barbara Traficonte, Nancy Trider, Kristi Beck Touchette, Jennifer Wadsworth, Jim Walker, Jill Snyder Wallace, Janalee Welch, Heidi Wilde and John Wiley.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.