LOS ANGELES (AP) – Blake Griffin keeps picking up trophies on his way to the NBA.

The Oklahoma sophomore won the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball’s top player on Friday only three days after he announced that he would turn pro. DeJuan Blair and Tyler Hansbrough, two other finalists, did not show up for the ceremony, which was held at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

The award gave Griffin a sweep of this season’s individual honors. The forward won The Associated Press College Basketball Player of the Year earlier this month as well as the Naismith award.

He was also picked by The Sporting News as Player of the Year.

Griffin, who became the first Oklahoma player to win the award, led the nation with 30 double-doubles.

Connecticut’s Maya Moore won the women’s award, four days after winning the national title and completing a perfect season for UConn.

The sophomore, who became the first UConn player to win the award since it was given to women starting in 2004, beat out Oklahoma’s Courtney Paris, with 176 votes to Paris’ 133.

Moore had 19.3 points per game and was the first UConn player chosen. Moore, the Big East Player of the Year, had 19.3 points per game as a sophomore.

Griffin won in a landslide, with 3,960 votes while Hansbrough, last year’s winner, had 3,004.

He averaged 22.7 points and 14.4 rebounds.

The awards are named for the former UCLA coach who led the Bruins to 10 NCAA championships in 12 years before retiring in 1975.

Wooden didn’t attend the ceremony. His family announced in August 2005 that he would no longer participate because of a trademark dispute concerning the use of his name.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.