SPARTA, Ky. (AP) – Joey Logano cruised past Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch with 10 laps to go and held on to win Kentucky Speedway’s Nationwide Series race for the second consecutive year Saturday night.

Last year in the Meijer 300, Logano became the youngest winner in a Nationwide event. This time, he made history as the first repeat winner in the track’s signature NASCAR race.

Logano made the move past his Joe Gibbs teammate shortly after a red flag delayed the race for nearly nine minutes to clean debris off the track.

Most of the night, Busch dominated – at one point leading 104 consecutive laps. Busch led 162 laps, and Logano was the only other driver in double digits with 20.

It was Busch’s second runner-up finish of the day, having lost the NASCAR truck race to Colin Braun hours earlier at Michigan International Speedway.

The teammates were facing off in a Nationwide race for the first time since two weeks earlier in Dover, when a late nudge from Logano may have cost Busch a shot at victory. Logano took the blame afterward, but later learned Busch also was experiencing a right front tire issue.

Brad Keselowski, who was the beneficiary of that collision and won in Dover, finished third in Kentucky.

Busch was able to expand his Nationwide points lead over Carl Edwards to 137 points after Edwards had an abysmal performance, finishing 20th.

Edwards, who joined Busch and Logano as the only regular Sprint Cup drivers in Saturday’s race, was forced into a long pit after complaining about problems with the car’s back end.

He also was penalized twice for speeding off pit road.

Logano received the same penalty but made few mistakes after that, showing a strong familiarity with the track that some drivers complained was bumpier than usual Saturday.

Logano’s win this year ended a streak of three straight Meijer 300s that were won by a driver who didn’t regular compete in the Cup.

It was his third career victory and second of the season. He also won the pole at Kentucky Speedway for the second straight year with a lap speed of 174.865 mph and started alongside Busch up front.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.