LEWISTON — The Central Maine Medical Center College of Nursing and Health Professions graduated 52 students recently in a ceremony at the Franco-American Heritage Center.
Having successfully completed the two-year, four-semester registered nursing education program, the graduates were awarded associate degrees in the applied science of nursing. A number of graduating students received awards during the ceremony.
The CMMC College of Nursing and Health Professions President’s Award for the senior student attaining the highest academic achievement went to honors student Jeannine Boutin-Lesage of Hope.
Jared J. Miller of Winthrop was winner of the Central Maine General Hospital-CMMC School of Nursing Alumni Association Award, which is chosen by members of the graduating class as the person they would most like to have take care of themselves or their family.
Katherine J. Dunn of Lisbon Falls was honored with the CMMC Board of Trustees Award, which is awarded to the student who demonstrates gentleness, independence, understanding, caring, compassion and love in communicating with and caring for people. The recipient must also exhibit excellence in delivering nursing care.
Honors student Aaron Strout of Sabattus was presented the CMMC College of Nursing and Health Professions Board of Trustees Award, which is given each year to the student who demonstrates leadership qualities, displays concern and understanding for others, makes decisions and assumes responsibility for his or her actions and establishes trust in interactions.
Leslie B. Geissinger of Jay was given the Samuel L. Singer and Ruth Small Award, which is presented to a student who will become a credit to herself and her profession, and who shows pride as a representative of the college and maintains good academic standing.
Heather S. Pugh of Lisbon Falls was presented the Charles E. Fortier Jr. Memorial Award, which is given to the student whose “behavior as a whole is indicative of a people-oriented person,” who directs “his or her expression in action rather than denying its existence” and whose “sense of humor permeates all of his or her activities.”
CMMC Medical Staff Awards for Excellence in Nursing were also presented to the following graduates: Jennifer M. Wallstrom of Brownfield, mental health nursing; Cora Matthews of Auburn, medical nursing; Jada L. Reed of Readfield, surgical nursing; Michaela R. True of Lewiston, obstetrical nursing; and Nicole P. Duva of Deerfield Beach, Fla., pediatric nursing.
Also comprising the class of 2009 are: class vice president Chelsea P. Allen, New Gloucester; Valerie L. Allen, Byron; class secretary Rachelle A. Artea, Lewiston; Michelle H. Barber, West Paris; Jessie L. Beardsley, Lisbon Falls; Paula J. Bernier, Gray; Kimberly A. Brooks, Jay; class treasurer Nicole M. Cabrera, Brunswick.
Also, Tracy J. Clark, Norway; Sasha A. L. Doughty, Brunswick; Kathleen L. Dube, Lewiston; Tiffany E. Dunn, Buckfield; Donna M. Dymond, Lewiston; John A. Gallagher, Portland; Eric D. Giguere, Lewiston; Matthew R. Guy, Enfield, N.H.; Jessica M. Hamm, Auburn.
Also, Stacy L. Harriman, Lisbon; Diane M. Jeselskis, Buckfield; Amanda L. Johnson, Auburn; Marianne Komanecky, Andover; honors student Nicola M. Lewis, Nobleboro; Irene C. Manson, Bowdoin; honors student Amy K. Martin, Strong; Kira L. Mattox, Monmouth; Kiley K. Morgan, Chesterville; Sandy S. Morin, Wales; Tiffany R. Noble, Norway; Laurie C. Oliver, Falmouth.
Also, Shauna M. Perry, Portland; Adam Pilon, Augusta; Erica Romanowsky, Durham; Jennifer Ross, Wayne; Nancy K. Stone, Windham; Cynthia D. Swendsen, Gorham; Erin D. Theriault, Lewiston; Tracey L. Thornton, Gardiner; Karen A. Tims, Hartford; Tiffany R. Toulouse, Palmyra; Erika B. Webster, Dixfield; and class president Jennifer L. Wright, Winthrop.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.