JAY — Listen up sports fans. Professional and minor league sports teams memorabilia and game tickets go on the auction block Saturday, Jan. 30, to benefit Special Olympics Maine.

The Jay AMVETS Special Olympics Committee will hold its kick-off dinner and auction beginning with the meal from 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., followed by the auction at the AMVETS Hall on Route 4 in Jay.

The Committee has been raising funds for years to help the Special Olympic athletes participate in the games. The 2010 winter game events will be held from Sunday, Jan. 31, to Tuesday, Feb. 2, at Sugarloaf/USA in Carrabassett Valley.

Among the numerous items to be auctioned off Jan. 30 are a Boston Celtics miniature basketball signed by Tony Allen, a Bruins puck signed by No. 28, Mark Recche, a Red Sox baseball signed by Manny Delcarmen, and a Patriots picture signed by linebacker Jared Mayo.

Also going up for bid are four tickets to a Portland Sea Dogs game, five tickets to a Portland Pirates game and a Maine Red Claws basketball team inaugural ball signed by the whole team.

Darice Dubreuil and Ryan Souther, both on the Committee and employees of Otis Federal Credit Union in Jay, had a successful year in soliciting sports items.

“Darice and I have mailed letters for over seven years to the pro sports and semi pro sports teams,” Souther said. “We have received a few items each year but this is the first year we received an item from all pro teams and semi-pro teams.”

Members of the AMVETS plan once again to travel up to the games on Monday, Feb. 1, to give snowmobile rides to the many athletes, Committee Chairman Gerry Toothaker said.

[email protected]

Members of the Jay AMVETS Special Olympics Committee display some of the items from sports teams including Boston Celtics, Red Sox and Bruins and Portland Sea Dogs and Pirates that will go up for auction along with numerous other donated items, during the Committee’s kick-off dinner and auction on Saturday, Jan. 30, at the AMVETS Hall on Route 4 in Jay. The auction will follow a dinner that will be held from 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. From left are Committee members, Don LeSuer, Darice Dubreuil, Chairman Gerry Toothaker and Ryan Souther.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.