LEWISTON- Team Snafu, led by captain Derek Webb, won the 17th annual Lahey Bowl held Jan. 30 at Sparetime Recreation.

Snafu won by 21 pins in the eight-team roll-off. Webb’s teammates were Reggie Dubois, Marc Frechette, Scott Allaire and Jamie Bernier.

Team USA came close to repeating as Lahey champs, but its chances were hampered by an injury to captain Jil Dionne. Dan Cailler, Jim Morin, Ralph Therrien and Mike Peaco joined Dionne on the team.

Chicken of Maine, also missing its captain Gerry Allaire to injury, captured third place. Active team members were Gary Goldberg, Dan Briggs, Brian Albert, Jim Chaplin and Ernie Ashton.

A total of 170 bowlers competed in this year’s event to benefit the Lahey Foundation. The tournament and foundation were established in memory of Thomas F. Lahey, local athlete and businessman, who died in October 1987 at age 44. Since its inception, the Lahey Foundation has awarded more than $160,000 to graduates of Lewiston, Edward Little and St. Dominic Regional high schools.

Individual leaders were as follows:

High series scratch: Men, Derek Webb 734, Roland Dostie 707, Jeff Bolduc 686, Mike Peaco 681; Women, Ali Breault 591, Pauline Bosse 580, Sue Dostie 517, Amanda Welch 507.

High game scratch: Men, Roland Dostie 279, Derek Webb 277, Mike Peaco 244, Glen Fillion 237; Women, Ali Breault 245, Pauline Bosse 211, Chris Gary 197.

High series handicap: Men, Keith Poulin 853, Jeff Blackburn 835, Dan Cailler 821; Women, Ann Marie Caron 795, Janet Nyitray 777, Faye Brickel 775.

High game handicap: Men, Brian Albert 315, Jeff Blackburn 311; Women, Ali Breault 286, Ann Marie Caron 286.

High average: Men, Derek Webb 244, Roland Dostie 236, Jeff Bolduc 229. Women. Ali Breault 197, Pauline Bosse 193, Sue Dostie 172.

Team high series scratch: Team Snafu 3,178.

Team high series handicap: Bilodeau Insurance 3,764.

Most improved: Brian Albert, single string scratch 215.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.