NORWAY — The Special Olympics team sponsored by the Progress Center recently brought 17 medals and 12 ribbons back to Oxford Hills.

The medals and ribbons represent participation in nine different events by 15 team members, according to officials at the Progress Center.

The 43rd annual Special Olympics Maine State Summer Games were held at the University of Maine at Orono on June 10-12. The Progress Center team competed against approximately 130 teams.

Olympians and their events were: Bocce: Alyssa Anderson and Bruce Coffin; softball throw: Alyssa Anderson, Bruce Coffin, Nate Greenleaf, Ethel Hutchins, Robert Lavasser, Janice Norris, Rusty Perkins and Seth Lord; shot put: Brenda Andrews, CJ Skillings and James Rollins; standing long jump: Brenda Andrews; 25M walk: Bruce Coffin and Rusty Perkins; 50M dash: Sarah Paladino, David Tew, CJ Skillings and Tracey Raymond; 100M dash: Alyssa Anderson, Don Dudley, Sarah Paladino, James Rollins, David Tew and Tracey Raymond; 200M dash: Don Dudley, James Rollins and David Tew; and 400M dash: Don Dudley.

The Olympians took full advantage of the fun activities as well, including the annual parade and opening ceremonies on Friday evening. When the events finished on Saturday, they spent the evening at the annual victory dance held at the field house. Sunday morning the last few events and closing ceremony were canceled due to bad weather.

The Progress Center Special Olympics Team is coached by Becky Connell, Matt Hess, Fred Cummings, Lisa Wilson, and Lisa Durgin, as well as Ken Ruff, who is head coach.

Special Olympics is a year round athletic training and competition program for individuals with intellectual disabilities of all ages. In Maine approximately 3,000 athletes participate in the program.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: