SKOWHEGAN — Allaina Murphy of St. Dominic Academy in Auburn won third place and $125 in the 15th annual Margaret Chase Smith Library essay contest. The theme was stewardship of the environment.

Murphy’s approach to stewardship is that “problem-solving cannot be left entirely to the governmental experts; it is the responsibility of the population as a whole to protect the environment” through measures such as recycling.

First prize of $500 went to Zoe Anderson of Medomak Valley High School in Waldoboro. Second prize of $250 went to Ali Clift of Bonny Eagle High School in Standish.

The library awarded five honorable mention prizes of $25, along with a book about Senator Smith to: Devyn Bell of Dexter Regional High School, Joe Bosse of Saint Dominic Academy, Sarabeth George of Bonny Eagle High School, Krysta Moulton of Madison Area Memorial High School, and Kaity Richard of Acadia Christian School in Trenton.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.