100 years ago, 1913
Maine’s only school where the art of telegraphy is taught is located in Lewiston, with a branch in Sabatis. The Lewiston school has its headquarters in room 12 of the Journal building, where each night (it is an evening school) there gather the pupils and for three hours the clickety, click of giant sounders echo thru the corridors of the building. C. W. Daggett of Sabatis is proprietor and instructor.

50 years ago, 1963
(School Page article by Donna Delisle, E.L. ’64) Next Monday, the Auburn Youth Activities Council will sponsor a Student Government Day. Among the officials elected by their classmates are: (seniors) John White, mayor; Jim Gordon, city manager; Paul Chabot, councilman; Marilyn Brookes, city clerk; Susan Bean, superintendent of recreation; and Henry McInnis, judge. Juniors elected are: Bill Kendall, councilman; Don White, superintendent of schools; Marc Fournier, engineer and planner; Bob Chabot, auditor; and Ed Whittier, police chief. Sophomores are: Dan Wise, councilman; Dale Littlefield, treasurer; Joel Baker, assessor; and James Rowbotham, fire chief.

25 years ago, 1988
Auburn City Councilor Franklin Goss will retain his seat after Mayor Harry W. Woodard Jr. Monday cast a tie-breaking vote in a controversial proposal to change a ward line to accommodate Goss’s pending relocation. Goss, moving within two months to Val-View Drive, asked that the line be extended easterly to the shore of Taylor Pond.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.