LIVERMORE FALLS — New consumer fireworks rules go into effect Monday, spelling out when and where they can be used.

The state approved the use of consumer fireworks on Jan. 1, 2012. Livermore Falls voters approved an ordinance addressing their June 11. All who use fireworks in town are required to follow state law.

Consumer fireworks include firecrackers, according to state law. Some fireworks are prohibited under state and local law, including bottle and sky rockets and missile-type rockets, such as helicopters and aerial spinners.

Use of fireworks on public or town property is forbidden.

State and local regulations allow consumer fireworks to be used from 10 a.m. and 10 p.m., except on July 4 and Dec. 31. On those days and the Saturdays and Sundays immediately before and after those days, they can be used from 10 a.m. to 12:30 a.m. the following day.

The town’s ordinance restricts use of fireworks in the village area, which is defined by the Jay town line on the north, the Androscoggin River on the west, the Central Maine Power Co. right of way on the east and on the south by an east-west line from the river to the power lines and encompassing all properties abutting Gilbert Street, the south loop.

People using fireworks may do so on their property or on another’s if they have written permission.

The ordinance states a person will not be allowed to use consumer fireworks if the forest fire danger is a Class 4 or higher, as determined by the state. The predicted class day can be obtained by contacting the Livermore Falls Fire Rescue Department or the Maine Forest Service.

The ordinance also restricts use within 50 feet of any building and within 25 feet of overhead power lines. Spectators would need to be at least 50 feet away from the discharge point.

People using fireworks must provide cleanup and debris removal.

Penalties for a first offense, which is a civil violation of the ordinance, are $200 to $400 plus attorney fees and costs. A penalty of $500 to $1,000 plus attorney fees and costs will be levied for subsequent offenses within six years of use violation.

Enforcement will be conducted by Livermore Falls Police Department, Androscoggin County Sheriff’s Department and Maine State Police, and any law enforcement agency with which Livermore Falls has a mutual aid agreement.

[email protected]


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: