Nicco DeLorenzo of Kennebunk, Ben Lucas of Cony and Justin Zukowski of Portland are the 2013 Fitzpatrick Trophy finalists.

The trio represents the top three selections among Maine high school football coaches and media voting from a list of 12 semifinalists, which included Leavitt’s Levi Morin. The winner will be announced Jan. 19 at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy is awarded annually to the top senior football player in the state.

DeLorenzo led Kennebunk to the Western Class B title as a running back/linebacker. He rushed for 1,400 yards and scored 21 touchdowns. Defensively, he excelled in both stopping the run and pass coverage.

Lucas, whose team defeated DeLorenzo’s Rams for the Class B state championship, broke the state’s career passing yardage and touchdown records with 7,700 yards and 89 touchdowns. This year, while leading Cony to its first state title, he tossed 41 TD passes and threw for nearly 3,500 yards.

Zukowski, who will be attending Bates College in the fall, was a two-way star for the Bulldogs, leading Eastern Class A with 1,624 yards rushing and 27 touchdowns. He was also one of the leading tacklers in the conference and was named the Player of the Year.

DeLorenzo and Lucas would be the first Fitzpatrick winner from their respective schools. Zukowski would be the sixth from Portland, the last being Carl Frye in 2002.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.