The exhibition of work by 55 artists from around the state represents the best of MCA members in an inspired perspective of contemporary crafts in Maine. The exhibition, juried by noted arts writer Carl Little, includes work in all media – ceramic, fiber, glass, metal, wood, fiber, and stone. Most of the works are available for purchase.

The Maine Crafts Association, a nonprofit founded in 1983, is a Maine-based arts organization dedicated to creating opportunities for Maine craft artists to develop their professional careers through educational and marketing programs, as well as to increase their income through retail and wholesale sales.

The Maine Crafts Association serves craft artists throughout the state with educational activities such as workshops and conferences, promotion of Maine Craft Saturday, Haystack Workshop Weekend, a Master Craft Awards program, exhibition and demonstration opportunities.

Members also have access to markets such as wholesale and retail tradeshows, The Center for Maine Craft and seasonal craft markets. In a state with a widespread population, MCA programming helps small Maine businesses intersect with Maine’s summer residents, visitors and larger marketplaces in Maine and New England. For more information, visit

Located in the University of Southern Maine’s Lewiston-Auburn College, the Atrium Art Gallery features exhibitions of sculpture, painting, drawing, and contemporary crafts. In 2000, the Atrium Art Gallery, working in collaboration with the Maine Crafts Association, hosted The Inspired Hand. Its success led to the development of the biennial exhibition as a showcase of work by members of the Maine Crafts Association.

The event is free and open to the public. A cash bar featuring a selection of beer and wine will be available.

The exhibition continues through March 15. The Atrium Art Gallery is at 51 Westminster Street. The exhibit website is For more information, call 207-753-6500.

Artists in the exhibition:

Susan Atwater, Paul Baines, Marian Baker, Judith Barker, Libby Barrett, Chris Becksvoort, Holly Berry, Maggie Bokor, Richard Boyd, Alan Bradstreet, Stephani Briggs, Roxanna Brophy, Tim Christensen, Audra Christie, Jeff Clapp, Katharine Cobey, Nire Cook, Allison Cooke Brown, Lisa Cooley, Isabella Corwin, Cheryl Daigle, Patricia Daunis, Cara Romano, Janelle Delicata, Kaitlyn Duggan, Lynn Duryea, Barbara Fernald, Jemma Gascoine, Karen Gola, Sarah Koelbl, Charles Grosjean, Susanne Grosjean, Wayne Hall, Cathy Schroeder Hammond, Paul Heroux, Sherrill Hunnibell, Lissa Hunter, Gerald Jacobs, Peggy Johnson, Michael Kagan, Betty Kelley, Diane Langley, Susan Mills, Robert Muise, Cindy Papken, Jeanne Seronde Perkins, Willy Reddick, Joy Scott, Theresa Secord, Stephanie Sersich, Sam Shaw, Antony Takacs, Jacques Vesery, Barbara Walch, and Fred Woell.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: