FORT KENT — Quebec musher Martin Massicotte drove his team into Fort Kent at 5:15 a.m. Monday to claim his fifth Irving Woodlands Can Am Crown 250 International Sled Dog Race victory.

Massicotte edged out fellow Quebecois musher Andre Longchamp by less than a minute to take the win.

Last year’s winner, Ryan Anderson of Ray, Minn., came in at 5:35 to take third place.

Eighteen teams left Fort Kent Saturday morning during the race’s traditional Main Street start in Fort Kent.

As of Monday morning, four teams were on the trail between Allagash and Fort Kent, one team was taking its layover at Allagash, four teams were at Maibec and five teams had dropped out.

On Saturday, the Can Am 30- and 60-mile racers took off down Main Street with Rico Portalatin of Westhampton, Mass., taking first place in the 60-mile race and Amy DeWolski of Millbury, Mass., winning the 30-mile race.


Can Am Crown Willard Jalbert Jr. Memorial 60-mile race – Rico Portalatin, Westhampton, Massachusetts, 05:53:23; David Boyer, St-Liguori, Quebec, 06:01:33; Stephane DuPlessis, St. Zenon, Quebec, 06:04:21; Amy Dionne, St. David, 06:05:37; Sylvain Robillard, St-Gabriel de Brandon, Quebec, 06:07:38; Eric Chagnon, Parent, Quebec, 06:18:03; Ashley Patterson, Shirley, 06:32:01; Paul Boudreau, L’Assomption, Quebec, 06:35:34; Andrew Bartleet, Albany Township, 06:57:15; Jessica Holmes, Portage, 07:37:11; Gilles Harnois, St-Alexis des Monts, Quebec, 07:54:03; Spencer Thew, South Colton, New York, 08:33:49; Katherine Langlais, Glenwood, New Brunswick, 08:52:30; Manon Moore, St-Gabriel de Brandon, Quebec, DNF.

Can Am Crown Pepsi Bottling Company-Allen’s Coffee Brandy 30-mile race:

Amy DeWolski, Millbury, Massachusetts, 02:36:36; Peter Franke, New Durham, New Hampshire, 02:41:19; Abbey Miller, Sandyston, New Jersey, 02:50:02; Holly Dionne, St. David, 02:56:25; Amy Dugan, Shirley Mills, 03:03:09; Luc Gaudreau, St-Denis de Brompton, Quebec, 03:03:10; Mark Patterson, Shirley 03:09:45; John Kaleta, Eagle Lake, 03:12:41; Kip Bartlett, Canaan, New Hampshire, 03:14:26; Keith Webb, Port Republic, New Jersey, 03:18:55; Maria Gaffney, Craftsbury Common, Vermont, 03:20:22; Lilly Anderson, Southwest Harbor, 03:24:49; Terry Knowles, Brownville, 03:28:02; Heather Darcey, Underhill, Vermont, 03:28:35; Penny Gray, Fort Kent, 03:30:12: Nadya Healy, Brookline, Massachusetts, 03:30:46; David Punch, Kingsbury, Plt., 03:39:16; Scott Isabelle, Wolfboro, New Hampshire, 03:49:23; Ingrid Bower, Underhill, Vermont, 04:09:30; Eric Benson, Baltimore, Maryland, 04:17:32; Steven Davis, Richfield Springs, New York, 04:32:51; Al Tarr, Gibsonia, Pennsylvania, 04:33:02; Nick Van Drimmelen, Jericho Center, Vermont, 05:03:50; Leigh Hunteman, Cambridge, Maryland, 05:08:40; Marion Lugdon, Eagle Lake, 05:11:45.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: