MINOT — Selectmen on Monday authorized Town Administrator Arlan Saunders to enter into an agreement with Whited Peterbilt of Auburn for a new plow truck with plow gear included.

It will replace a 1998 International.

Whited Peterbilt’s bid of $157,776 with a trade-in was the lowest of three. The others were from Freightliner of Maine and Morrison & Sylvester.

Voters on Saturday approved purchasing the new plow truck for not more than $175,000 and financing it over four years. Saunders said he and Highway Supervisor Scott Parker will procure it.

In other business, selectmen made appointments:

* Kathleen Mcanneny, Planning Board member.

* John Geismar, Planning Board alternate.

* Karen Nichols, Budget Committee.

* Ed Cormier and William Gould, Board of Appeals.

* Don Piper and Reggie Pratt, Conservation Commission. Their primary duties now focus on the maintenance of town recreational facilities.

The Board of Selectmen named Dean Campbell chairman and Dan Gilpatric vice chairman for the year.

Parker reported that the additional sand the town ordered has been delivered and he hopes he will not have to use it.

On Thursday, Parker will post town roads to forbid travel by vehicles over certain weights during mud season.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.