PORTLAND — Thirty-four music students from throughout Maine will perform in a student showcase at the second annual Maine Acoustic Festival at 4 p.m. Saturday, March 29, at Hannaford Hall on the campus of the University of Southern Maine.

The talented middle school and high school students were selected by audition to participate in an intensive three-day festival of workshops, rehearsals, and performances. The students have distinguished themselves in the traditional acoustic music styles of bluegrass, old-time, newgrass, Franco-American, and Irish with an additional category for singer/songwriters.

The students will come together from hometowns scattered across Maine: Camden, Chesterville, Industry, Bangor, Bowdoinham, Brunswick, Ellsworth, Eustis, Falmouth, Farmington, Farmington Falls, Freeport, Georgetown, Gorham, Kennebunkport, Lewiston, New Gloucester, Portland, Wilton, and Yarmouth.

For more information, visit www.MaineAcousticFestival.com.

The performance is open to the public. Admission is $15 for adults and $10 for students. Tickets will be available at the door or online at www.brownpapertickets.com/event/595083.

The students participating in the Maine Acoustic Festival are Sumner Bright, Freeport; Molly Brock, Falmouth; Sophia Bunnell, Wilton; Kris Cody, Yarmouth; Abbie Collette, Lewiston; Thalia Cook-Hansen, Yarmouth; Zack Cummings, Wilton; Genevieve Curtis, Falmouth; Perrin Davidson, Freeport; Thad Gunther, Farmington; Natalie Hauptman, Falmouth; Brendan Hickey, Chesterville; Kellan Humphries, Yarmouth; Sally Jarmusz, Georgetown; Max Kay, Industry; Gus LaCasse, Ellsworth; Sarah Logan, Gorham; Ellie Marston, Portland; Claire Maurer, Freeport; Max Maurer, Freeport; Tucker Pierce, New Gloucester; Samantha Pierce, New Gloucester; Lena Rich, Yarmouth; Nolan Rogers, Farmington Falls; Silas Rogers, Farmington Falls; Kyle Ryan, Kennebunkport; Emma Scott, Yarmouth; Max Silverstein, Bangor; Anja Siviski, Lewiston; Eleanor Skinner, Bowdoinham; Victor So, Lewiston; Mason Strunk, Eustis; Chase Winn, Camden; and Finn Woodruff, Brunswick.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: