AUBURN — Androscoggin County voters this June and November will get more candidates for more offices than ever.

A just-released state list of the major party candidates includes 11 candidates for five seats on the county commission, two people for judge of probate and two for sheriff. The list, compiled by the Secretary of State’s office, doesn’t include at least one person who plans to run as an independent in November.

County Clerk Patricia Fournier, who has worked for the county for almost 43 years, said she’s never seen such a full ballot, particularly for County Commission.

In large part, it’s due to a change in the County Charter that increased the number of commissioners from three to seven. Five seats will be filled in this year’s election.

“To the best of my recollection, I’ve never seen three seats up for re-election,” Fournier said.

Most of the contests will come in November. The only primary contest will happen in the county’s second district, which covers the northern part of Lewiston. Democrats Samuel Chamberlain and Walter Hill will face each other. The winner will face Republican Ronald Chicoine in November.


In District 1, which comprises a downtown piece of Lewiston and includes lower Lisbon Street, Little Canada and the Main Street corridor, incumbent Elaine Makas, a Democrat, will face Michael Marcotte, a Republican.

In District 3, which includes the southern section of Lewiston, Durham and Greene, Republican Matthew Roy of Lewiston will face Joshua Klein-Golden, a Democrat from Durham.

In District 5, which covers downtown Auburn, Democrat Mary Roussel will face Republican Gard Deletesky. And in District 7, which includes Minot, Turner, Livermore, Livermore Falls and Leeds, Republican Sally Christner of Turner will face Democrat Maurice Castonguay of Livermore Falls.

Also on the June ballots will be two candidates for sheriff, Democrat Eric Samson of Auburn and Republican Timothy Lajoie of Lewiston. A third candidate, Raymond Lafrance of Poland, announced plans to run as an independent.

For judge of probate, Elliott Epstein, a Democrat from Auburn, is challenging Republican Michael Dubois.

Democrat Andrew Robinson of Farmington is unopposed in his bid for district attorney, covering Androscoggin, Franklin and Oxford counties.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.