MEXICO — Selectmen are asking for nominations for the annual Night of Appreciation banquet where residents and town employees are recognized.

The banquet will be held in October.

The categories are:

* Employee of the Year: This award will be presented to a full-time employee who provides services to the community in the most exemplary way, offering efficient, friendly and prompt service to the general public. Retiring police Chief Jim Theriault received this award last year.

* Part-time/Reserve Employee of the Year: Presented to a part-time or reserve employee or call man, this award has the same criteria as Employee of the Year. Recreation Director Wayne Sevigny won the award last year.

* Volunteer of the Year: This award will be presented to a citizen who has been involved in the community with extensive volunteerism throughout the year. Gary Coffin won the award last year.


* Citizen of the Year: This award will be presented to a citizen who has accomplished a task that has touched the lives of many and/or something that has created a positive effect in the town. Last year’s recipient was fire Chief Gary Wentzell.

The recipient of the Boston Post Cane will also be recognized, event organizer Sheryl Briggs said Friday.

Written nominations must be submitted by 4 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 23, to the Board of Selectmen, P.O. Box 251, Mexico, ME 04257.

Those submitting nominations are urged to indicate the appropriate category or categories as follows: ATTN: Employee of the Year; ATTN: Part-time/Reserve/Call Man of the Year; ATTN: Volunteer of the Year; or ATTN: Citizen of the Year.

For more information or to have questions answered, contact Sheryl Briggs at the Town Office at 364-7971 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.