LEWISTON — A new 22-member committee assigned with recommending which students should attend a new school will hold its first meeting Tuesday.

The Redistricting Committee will meet from 4:30 to 6 p.m. at the Lewiston School Department’s Dingley Building on Oak Street.

Before Lewiston plans the design and location for a new elementary school, the city must first decide which neighborhoods will comprise the school’s student body, as well as what grades will be included in the new school — pre-K to grade two or pre-K to grade six. 

Members of the committee, representing schools, parents and school and city officials, are:

Farwell Elementary: Principal Althea Walker; parents, Aimee Parker and Jen Hazard.

Longley Elementary: Principal Kristie Clark; parents, Tammy Caron and Farah Adan.


Martel Elementary: Principal Stephen Whitfield; parents, Marnie Morneault and Stacey Laflamme.

Geiger Elementary: Parents, Sean Andrews and Megan Parks.

McMahon Elementary: Parents, Jody Wolverton and Janet Beaudoin.

Montello Elementary: Parents, Jen Williams and Amanda Hammond.

Community members: Dawn Hartill and Elizabeth Eames; City Councilor John Butler; Planning Board member Bruce Damon; School Committee members Linda Scott and Tom Shannon and Superintendent Bill Webster.

The committee is charged with giving its recommendations to the Lewiston School Committee by Jan. 31.

State funding for a new elementary school to replace the aging 1925 Martel Elementary on Lisbon Street was approved last April by the Maine Department of Education.

The new school will also help relieve overcrowding, as the Lewiston student population is growing.

The new school could open in the fall of 2018.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.