NORWAY — There are several races for selectmen and School Administrative District 17 directors in area towns this spring. 

In Norway, a three-way race has developed for one of two seats on the school board. Incumbents Jared Cash and Stephen Cummings are being challenged by Michael R. Marshall of Round the Pond Road.

For the Board of Selectmen, incumbent Russ Newcomb is challenged by former Selectman Gary Howe. Howe took out nomination papers but said he missed the deadline so he’s running as a write-in candidate. Howe served from 1985 to 1991. Newcomb is seeking his sixth term.

Fire Chief Dennis Yates, who was first elected in 2009, is seeking another term.

Cynthia Reedy is running for re-election to the Norway Memorial Library Board of Trustees. Michael Vandemark is a write-in candidate for the other open seat.

For write-ins, voters must write the person’s name and the town they live in on the ballot, Town Clerk Shirley Boyce said. Stickers are not allowed.

In Paris, there are four candidates for two selectman seats. Firefighter Zachary Creps and Planning Board member Mike Risica are vying for a three-year term. Running for the two-year position are WOXO station manager Victor Hodgkins and former Selectman Robert Kirchherr.

Darren Boyce and Marjorie Risica are vying for the three-year position on the Paris Utility District Board of Trustees.

SAD 17 director Curtis Cole is unopposed for a three-year term.

Only one candidate has stepped forward for the two open seats on the Buckfield Board of Selectmen. Maida Demers-Dobson will run for a three-year term and for the assessor position. She could serve on both boards simultaneously if elected, Town Manager Cindy Dunn said.

In Harrison, four people are vying for two three-year terms as selectmen. Board Chairman Bill Winslow is seeking re-election, along with former transfer station employee Archille “Archie” Belanger, Imelda Aris and Richard Maynard.

Planning Board Vice Chairman James Dayton has tossed his hat in the ring for one of two open seats on the board. The terms are for three years.

Appeals Board Chairman Robert McBride is seeking re-election for a five-year term. There’s no candidate for the four-year term.

SAD 17 director Albert Lisowski is running for another three-year term.

In Hartford, Clarence Hill wants to unseat Board of Selectmen Chairwoman Lee Holman, who’s running for another three-year term.

The four candidates for a two-year term for road commissioner are Alan McNeil, Harley Swanson, John Plumley and David Bowen.

Richard Dyer is the only candidate for a three-year term as Regional School Unit 10 director.

[email protected]

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.