It has been a rough season for Chris Coolidge in the Budweiser Super Late Model division at Oxford Plains Speedway, but the Norway racer chose a great time to get things dialed-in properly.

Coolidge back up his heat race victory by leading all 50 laps of the caution-free main event. His first victory of a frustrating summer coincided with the final weekly event leading up to next Sunday’s AIM Recycling Oxford 250.

Kyle Treadwell of Buckfield zeroed in over the second half of the events. He cut Coolidge’s lead to two or three car lengths but never saw the yellow flag that might have given him the opportunity to mount a more serious challenge.

Buckfield’s Vanna Brackett was third, followed by past Oxford champion Shawn Martin of Turner and PASS competitor Joey Doiron.

Zach Emerson of Sabattus unofficially reclaimed the Street Stock points lead with his third victory of the season. That is a career-best total in a single season for the driver who has competed regularly since the 1990s.

Rick Spaulding of Lisbon was second, leading Calvin Rose Jr. of Turner, David Whittier of Poland and Jonathan Emerson of Sabattus across the line.


Figure Eight continues to be Jon Lizotte’s playground, but the Maine racing hall of famer from Lewiston needed until the final lap to run down teammate Tommy Tompkins of Carthage and claim the win. Eric Hodgkins, Mike St. Germain and Geoff Low completed the top five.

In the Bandit feature, Kyle Hewins of Leeds took advantage of a week off from his regular Street Stock ride at Wiscasset, charging from the back to the front for the win. Richard Kimball was second with point leader Shaun Hinkley giving chase. Jake Hall and Cam Childs were next in line.

Oxford 250 weekend activities include racing Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Nine divisions see action on Friday night, with the Valenti Modified Racing Series 100 headlining Saturday’s show. All qualifying for the main event is Sunday, with heat races getting underway at 1:30 p.m.

Ryan Hewins bolsters title bid with Beech Ridge victory

Advantage, Ryan Hewins. The driver from Leeds took a big chunk out of Cole Watson’s slim point lead going into Saturday night’s Wildcat feature at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough by winning the event.

Hewins held off Jon Brill and Lewis Anderson on a late restart to claim the victory.


Nick Cusack made his second trip to the winner’s circle of the season in the 40-lap NASCAR Pro Series showcase. Don Colpritt settled for second, with Robbie Harrison third. Point leader Reid Lanpher of Manchester raced from deep in the field to finish fourth.

Ben Tinker led the Sport Series field for his first victory of the summer. Phil Pinkham and Brandon Ingalls were next in line.

Chubbuck continues winning tradition at Wiscasset

Scott Chubbuck added to his staggering win total in the Pro Stock division at Wiscasset Speedway with another 40-lap victory Saturday night.

Chubbuck held off Jeff Burgess for the latest triumph. Wyatt Alexander, who pulled off his first Pro Stock win in the Boss Hogg 100 two weeks ago, was back on the podium in third, followed by Andy Saunders and John Peters.

In other action, David Cook of Jay led the field under the checkered flag in Thunder 4 Minis. Leandra Martin edged Cody Tribbet for second, with Noah Haggett and Jeff Walker rounding out the top five.

Jason Curtis chalked up the Super Street victory, keeping previous winners Mark Lucas and Dan Trask at bay. Josh Bailey held down fourth ahead of Adam Chadbourne.

The battle between teenage competitors Jacob Hendsbee and Kamren Knowles rages on in New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stock. This time it was Hendsbee keeping defending champion Knowles in his mirror to claim the top spot. Bob Patten collected third, with Jeff Prindall of Lisbon fourth and Craig Dunn of Strong fifth.

The Wicked Good Vintage Racers rolled into town for a pair of feature events. In the Late Model and Modified category, Steve Reny ran at the front of the field, followed by Bobby Symonds, Mark Theriault, Keith Smalley and Livermore’s Dennis Fish. In the Outlaw division of the classic rides, James Osmond prevailed over Paul Pierce and Ryan Chadwick. Bob Guyon of Monmouth was fourth, with Arthur Hannaford fifth.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.