LEWISTON — Challenger Benjamin Martin unseated long-serving School Committee Chairman James Handy by a narrow margin, 597-573.

In a post on Facebook later Tuesday Handy said he would request a recount.

Also winning re-election was Matthew Roy in Ward 6. He defeated second-time challenger Dawn Hartill, 713-537.

Richard White defeated Ward 5 incumbent Jama Aden Mohamed, 406-247.

In the race for the Ward 7 seat, incumbent Thomas Shannon fended off challenger Tina Hutchinson, 623-567.

Megan Parks defeated John Butler Jr., 3,762 to 3,422 to win the at-large seat on the committee.

Also winning re-election were incumbents Linda Scott in Ward 1 and Paul St. Pierre in Ward 2. Both ran unopposed, as did Ward 3 candidate Francis Gagnon.

2015 Election Coverage

  • Complete coverage of local and statewide election results.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.