LEWISTON — As part of College for ME-Androscoggin’s annual luncheon on Dec. 4, six awards will be given to recognize advocacy and achievement in educational attainment.

Each year selections are made in three categories: Corporate Leadership Award, Advocate Award and Student Award. This year, College for ME-Androscoggin will include three additional Special Award Winners who will be announced at the event.

Lamey Wellehan — Corporate Leadership Award. For the past 20 years, Lamey Wellehan has been awarding The Maine Difference Scholarship, a renewable scholarship for a Maine student pursuing studies on the ecology and economics of Maine at a Maine college or university. Recently, Lamey Wellehan increased its scholarship awards to three per year.

Doug Dumont — Advocate Award. In his short time as aspirations coordinator at Lewiston High School, Dumont has made tremendous strides in impacting students’ overall aspiration planning. He works with students to create post-high school graduation plans, facilitates college field trips, assists students enrolling in college level courses, supports students and families through the financial aid process, plans and provides grade level aspirations programming and encourages students to connect their educational aspirations to career planning.

Tim Stretton — Student Award. Prior to graduating from Lewiston High School in 2009, Stretton completed early college courses, fulfilling one full year of collegiate academic requirements. After high school, he attended the University of Southern Maine to study political science and international studies. He paid for his studies by working full time at a local restaurant. He continued his graduate studies at Norwich University. He works in U.S. Sen. Susan Collins’ office in Washington, D.C., with the goal of working for the U.S. Foreign Service.

Registration is still open for the 10th Annual Luncheon. It will be held from noon to  1:30 p.m. Friday Dec. 4, at the Hilton Garden Inn, Auburn Riverwatch. Register at: collegeformeandroscoggin.org.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.