RUMFORD — Danny Buteau has competed in several important wrestling events and knows what is needed to be done to win a match.

Buteau utilized his strengths once again to win an individual championship Saturday at the inaugural Franklin Savings Bank Invitational.

Noble scored 141 points in winning championship by receiving some luck in holding off Foxcroft Academy 137.5.

Mountain Valley — led by individual champions Caleb Austin (132-pounds) and Ethan Boucher (138) — scored 111 points to finish third for the third straight year, edging out Dirigo 108.

It was the second week that the Falcon duo have won a tournament. Ellsworth (92) and Belfast (66) rounded out the top six; there was 17 team. Butea executed a reversal at the end of the first period to tie the mat at 2-2. In the second period, the Raider escaped and used a leg trip for a takedown.

“Time was running out in the first period. I had to do some thing,” Buteau said. “In the second, Griffyn stood up and was behind me. I knew that I needed to keep moving.”


The multiple state champions had faced each other two weeks ago, with Buteau escaping in a 1-0 decision.

Noble entered the championship and consolation finals, held simultaneously, leading by 8.5 points. The Knights pulled ahead when Andy Shorey (126 champion) recorded a 14-0 major decision against Tony Ayala of Foxcroft. It was the front running teams lone head-to-head matches in the finals. The other Noble crown was by Otto Kiesker who pinned Brandon Tervo of Oak Hill, at 182.

“Yes we won. But I was not happy with the way we wrestled the last two rounds,” said Noble head coach Kip DeVoll, who was on edge as the final two Foxcroft wrestlers each lost finals matches. “I’ve been at this for a long time. It’s no fun to sit there and have to cheer that another kid loses.”

The action was heated on the mats and in Puiia Gymnasium through out the event, but Mountain Valley achieved a great deal. Austin had pinned two opponents and then won a 12-2 MD against Jake Martel of Noble. Austin, won for the second-straight year and was voted most outstanding wrestler of the tournament.

In another battle between Class B state champions, Boucher then recorded a hard fought 4-0 decision against Peyton Cole of Ellsworth.

“It feels good,” Boucher said, after having earned his 100th career win by sticking Hunter White of Dirigo in the semifinals. “But I’ve got bigger things (impending match against Cole). (Extra wrestling) has definitely helped. I never stopped wrestling over the summer, went to Nebraska and Massachusetts.”


The Falcons’ Mike Provencher won big n the quarterfinal and SF rounds, then won the 152 championship by forfeit. the DeRoche brothers Vinny and Eddie were each finalists. Vinny, who weighs 84 pounds, but competes in 106 class, had won 5-4 (escape) and 11-6 decisions were a big surprise. Eddie was tied 4­-4, but dropped his head and was caught in a near-side cradle by Foxcroft’s Zach Caron.

“I need to stay low (shooting) in. Then, stay behind and watch (balance) and weight,” said Vinny, who was stuck by Foxcroft’s Breyer Manchester in finals. ”It’s mental strength. You can never give up.”

“Vinny’s wins electrified the crowd and the team responded,” Mountain Valley coach Gary Dolloff said. “The kids wrestled well. After the quarterfinals, we had seven wrestlers left. We’ll be getting a couple kids back.”

Dirigo was paced by Lucas ”Bull” MacDonald who pulled away in the third period, en route to winning the 215 championship.

“I knew that I needed to score more points,” said MacDonald, who led 6-4. “He couldn’t hold me down and I used that to my advantage.”

The Cougars over came adversity after Avery Bradeen dislocated shoulder and  fought back  gallantly. Jon Wainwright (126), Bryce Whittemore (160) and Nolan DeGroot (170) each placed third, respectively.

“It was a tough tournament and we took some hits,” Dirigo coach Doug Gilbert said. “We scored over 100 points and that was a goal, this week. Seven of our 11 wrestlers earned medals.”

Robert Heatherman of Mount Ararat, who had won his 100th match earlier in the day, won the 170 championship by sticking Ellsworth’s Austin Smith. The Eagles Christian Jensen (138) and Oxford Hills’ Stephen Dailey (106), Jaden David (113) and Dawson Stevens (152) each placed third.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.