Local coaching legends Fern Masse and Len MacPhee were named on Wednesday as part of the third induction class for the Maine Basketball Hall of Fame.

Twenty-two personalities known for their exploits as players, coaches and officials will be enshrined in August. The ceremony also will include five “legends of the hall” contributors and two all-time teams.

The list was announced at press conferences in Bangor and Portland.

Masse coached the Lewiston High School boys from 1958 to 1989, leading the Blue Devils to a pair of regional championships.

He served the school as athletic director throughout the 1990s and later made multiple NCAA tournament appearances as an assistant women’s coach at Bates College. Masse also is known locally as a director of Hoop Camp in Casco.

MacPhee guided the men’s program at the University of Maine at Farmington for 24 years and the women for seven seasons. He led both teams to NAIA national prominence, including consecutive tournament appearances with the women in 1995 and 1996.


In addition to his 322 wins as coach, MacPhee also served UMF as athletic director until 2001, when he retired after 36 years of service. As an athlete, he played on basketball state championship teams at Cape Elizabeth and South Portland and later played both basketball and baseball at the University of Maine. MacPhee also coached the Maine Central Institute prep team and Rangeley Lakes Regional School boys.

Other notables on the list include former University of Maine stars Dean Smith, Matt Rossignol and Julie Bradstreet; Raymond Alley, who scored more than 2,000 points at both Vinalhaven High School and Husson University; and high school coaches I.J. Pinkham. Tony Hamlin, Mike McGee and Ed Guiski.

Also part of the 2016 class are Harland Storey, Joey DeRoche, Chris Jerome, Meaghan Lane Kolyszko, John Jordan, Kevin Whitmore, Gregg Frame, Kevin Nelson, Charlie Wootton, Ron Marks, Richard “Doc” Costello, Bob McAllister and Don Sturgeon.

Sportswriters Dick Doyle and Dewey Dewitt, pioneering coach Jim Connellan, semipro benefactor Eddie Griffin and player Terry Healey will be honored in the contributor category. The 1995 Cony girls’ and 1947 Patten boys’ teams also will be recognized.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: