OXFORD — Glen Luce picked up right where he left off eight months ago at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The Turner driver, winner of the lucrative Oxford 250 this past August, brought his PASS super late model car back to the oval on Sunday afternoon and held off a last-lap charge by defending track champion Tim Brackett of Buckfield to win the 50-lap championship series opener in the headline division.

Luce didn’t get quite the results he wanted a week ago in the PASS 150 at Oxford, when Ben Rowe pulled off the victory. He was plenty good enough, however, for what was only his second win in weekly SLM competition at the track where he cut his racing teeth.

Brackett fell shy by a mere four-hundredths of a second. Chris Coolidge of Norway claimed third, followed by Adam Polvinen of Auburn and Shawn Martin of Turner.

Five divisions hit the track on a brisk, breezy afternoon.

Calvin Rose Jr., also of Turner, prevailed in the 30-lap Street Stock feature. Rose found his way by a torrid battle for the top spot between Matt Dufault, Rick Spaulding and Jonathan Emerson in impressive fashion.

Turner’s Dufault, who led a healthy portion of the early laps, survived for second, with Zach Emerson of Sabattus making a late charge into the final podium position. Lisbon’s Spaulding and Kyle Hewins of Leeds filled out the top five.

Nicholas Naugle of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, made his 10-hour ride home a happy one, winning the 25-lap INEX Legends Cars feature race. Naugle turned back a tough test from East Parsonsfield veteran Trevor Sanborn, with 13-year-old Austin Teras grabbing another trophy in third.

Auburn’s Brandon Varney, who won two games this past week as a pitcher for the Edward Little High School baseball team, cruised to victory in the 20-lap main event for entry-level Bandits.

Varney, a graduate of the track’s go-kart program, had veteran Jamie Heath of Waterford in his mirror for most of the race. Cam Childs of Leeds was third.

Shane Green of South Paris earned his first trip to Figure 8 victory lane in a 15-lap race. Green led most of the way after last year’s champion, Jon Lizotte, was eliminated in a first-lap crash. Bob Morey of Lisbon was runner-up, with newcomer Kyle Kilgore of South Paris notching third.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: