Kyle Treadwell didn’t have quite what one might call a sensational first half of the 2016 racing season.

Despite his usual thorough preparations last winter, on-track performance wasn’t quite up to par at either his home track of Oxford or at Beech Ridge, where he also competed.

His program finally turned the corner Saturday evening, as the Auburn native led all 50 laps to win the Super Late Model trophy dash Oxford Plains Speedway. 

This was Treadwell’s second career win in a Super Late Model and first since May 2015. With his wire-to-wire dominance, he became the 12th winner in as many SLM races at Oxford this season. 

Oxford veteran Shawn Knight nailed down runner-up honors after a torrid battle with Anson’s Scott Moore, who filled out the podium in third. Scott Robbins wheeled his way up to fourth after starting eleventh on the 19-car grid, while Hebron’s Alan Wilson completed the top five.

Calvin Rose Jr. of Turner notched his third victory of the year in Street Stock action, putting a stop to Matt Dufault’s recent hot streak of three consecutive wins. Dufault made another one of his patented charges to the front using the rarely used third groove, only to see Rose slip by on a mid-race restart.


Zach Emerson of Sabattus put in yet another solid and consistent effort to finish third, while Bryce Mains of Naples and Norway’s Jordan Russell rounded out the top five.

Tyler Green kept the Turner-native theme up to speed as he finally claimed his first victory of 2016 in a hotly contested Bandit feature. The championship contender went wire-to-wire from the pole to earn top honors. Waterford veteran Jamie Heath settled for second after wheeling his way to the front from 12th on the grid.

Oxford’s Charlie Hall had a strong run to claim the third position, while Bill Grover of Waterford and Mechanic Falls-based racer Josh Knoll finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

South Paris veteran David Smith notched his third feature victory of the season in Figure 8 action Saturday. He and runner-up finisher Jon Lizotte of Lewiston are the true legends of this class, and the longtime friends went 1-2 once again. Kyle Kilgore was fast enough to claim third at the finish, while Greg Durgin and John Lizotte completed the top five.

Farrington wins by a whisker at Beech Ridge

It took what seemed like forever for Jay native Dave Farrington Jr. to win his first Pro Series feature at Beech Ridge. On the opening night of the 2016 season, the 2014 NASCAR Whelen All American Series track champion sealed the deal and celebrated as a thick fog overtook the speedway.


Farrington saw no fog this past Saturday, as he wheeled his No. 23 Kulwicki Driver Development Program entry toward the front from 13th on the grid. Farrington edged third-generation driver Nick Cusack by a scant six-thousandths of a second (yes, that’s .006) at the line to claim his second win of 2016. 

Last year’s Pro Series champion Reid Lanpher of Manchester finished just a half-second behind Cusack in third, while Saco’s Steve Carrier and Scarborough veteran Robbie Harrison rounded out the top five.

Ryan Villacci powered his way to victory in a 35-lap tilt for the Sport Series teams. Recent winner Frank Wear was just a tick over a half-second behind to claim runner-up honors, and Brandon Ingalls of Falmouth filled out the podium in third.

Windham-based racer Reggie Leeman finished just under a second off the pace in fourth. David Charest of Westbrook completed the top five.

Alfred’s Dave Cameron earned top honors in Saturday night’s 30-lap battle for Wildcat competitors. Kristina Nadeau of Buxton was glued to Cameron’s back bumper in second, while Waterboro’s Brian Caswell was rock-solid all race long and came home third. Recent winner Chaz Briggs of Westbrook powered his way to fourth, while Adam Lovejoy crossed the stripe in fifth.

St. Clair returns to winner’s circle at Wiscasset


Dave St. Clair has probably turned more laps at Wiscasset Speedway than any other five active drivers combined. The former track owner from Liberty showed that vast experience Saturday evening, as he wheeled his way into Victory Lane after a 35-lap tilt for the Late Model Sportsman class.

St. Clair held off Harrington’s Andrew McLaughlin to earn the win, while Wiscasset’s own Nick Hinkley filled out the podium in third. Second-generation hotshoe Josh St. Clair soldiered on to a respectable fourth-place finish, and Shane Clark of Winterport rounded out the top five.

In the other Late Model feature made up from a rainout on July 9, the younger St. Clair had his moment in the sun. St. Clair held off a hard-charging Will Collins of Waldoboro to notch the win, while Hinkley claimed his second podium finish of the evening in third.

Sidney powerhouse Chris Thorne, who won the Coastal 200 earlier this season, wheeled his No. 17 machine to fourth at the stripe, and Clark made it a pair of top-five runs with another solid effort.

In the 75-lap Spotlight feature for the mighty Outlaw Minis, Showhegan veteran Zach Audet held off Justin Trombley of Winterport to win the division’s longest test of 2016. Augusta’s Shawn Kimball was fast all race long and came home third, while Nick Anderson and Bryan Lancaster finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

New Gloucester-based veteran Ben Tinker earned his second win of the season in a 30-lap battle for the ground-pounding Modifieds. Tinker outgunned divisional strongman Mark Lucas of Harpswell to seal the deal, and hometown driver Adam Chadbourne filled out the podium in third.

Jariet Harrison of Freeport powered his way to fourth at the finish, while Nick Reno of Bath was fifth.

Kyle Hewins put on a clinic in Strictly Street action, holding off Kurt Hewins to prevail in a 25-lap tilt. Livermore Falls-based veteran Michael Haynes was just off the dueling Hewins’ pace and settled for third, and Kimberly Knight of Chesterville and Chelsea’s Maurice Young completed the top five. 

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.