PERU — The second of four informational sessions on the possible withdrawal of the four towns that made up the former SAD 21 from Regional School Unit 10 took place Thursday at Dirigo Elementary School.

About 35 people attended the meeting. 

Residents of SAD 21’s four towns, Canton, Carthage, Peru and Dixfield, voted in June 2015 to investigate the possibility of withdrawal.

On Election Day, Nov. 8, the former SAD 21 towns will decide two questions: whether to withdraw from RSU 10, and whether to reorganize into a new RSU comprising the former SAD 21 towns.

Sneller said if both questions pass in all four towns, the reorganized RSU 21 will take effect on June 30, 2017. If all four towns do not agree to withdraw, another vote on the matter could be attempted in two or three years.

If voters from the four towns choose to pull out of RSU 10 but all four towns do not vote to re-form as the former SAD 21, that vote can be brought back next year.


Sneller said if both questions are passed in all four towns, a new school board consisting of two members each from Canton and Carthage, three from Peru, and five from Dixfield would be organized.

RSU 10 school board member Ed Parent of Peru said costs would be higher if the four towns reformed into a new school unit rather than remaining in the current RSU.

“I’d like to see the RSU stick together to tackle problems,” he added.

However, the issue may not be one of only cost.

Dana Whittemore of Dixfield said many of those seeking reformation of the former SAD 21 want more local control of their tax dollars.

Two more public informational sessions are planned prior to the November election. Those are set for 6 p.m., Monday, Oct. 17, at the Carthage Town Office, and 6 p.m., Tuesday, Oct. 18, at Dirigo High School.

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: