Law enforcement agencies will hold 13th National Prescription Drug Take Back Day on Saturday, April 29, as part of the national Drug Take Back Program.

Expired, unused and unwanted prescription drugs can be taken to a drop-off site for disposal between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. The service is free and anonymous. No questions will be asked.

Local collection sites include:

Auburn: Auburn Police Department, 60 Court St.; or Bedard Pharmacy, 359 Minot Ave.

Bethel: Oxford County Sheriff’s Office, 18 Mayville Road.

Bridgton: Bridgton Community Center (operated by Bridgton Police Department) 15 Depot St.


Dixfield: Dixfield Police Department, 26 Main St.

Farmington: Farmington Police Department, 116 Franklin Ave.; or Franklin County Sheriff’s Office 123 County Way.

Freeport: Freeport Police Department, 16 Main St.

Fryeburg: Rite-Aid (operated by Fryeburg Police Department), 119 Bridgton Road.

Gray: Maine State Police Troop B, 1 Game Farm Road.

Jay: Hannaford (operated by Jay Police Department), Main St.


Lewiston: Farwell Elementary School (operated by Lewiston Police Department), 110 Farwell St.

Lisbon: Lisbon Police Department, 300 Lisbon St.

Litchfield: Litchfield Transfer Station (operated by Kennebec County Sheriff’s Office), 1174 Hallowell Road.

Livermore Falls: Livermore Falls Police Department, 2 Main St.

Mechanic Falls: Mechanic Falls Police Department, 108 Lewiston St.

Mexico: Mexico Town Office (operated by Mexico Police Department), 134 Main St.


Monmouth: Monmouth Transfer Station (operated by Monmouth Police Department), 126 Route 135.

Norway: Norway Police Department; 19 Danforth St.

Oxford: Oxford Police Department, 701 Main St.

Paris: Paris Police Department, 35 Market Square; or Oxford County Sheriff’s Office, 26 Western Ave.

Poland: Poland Town Office Complex, 1231 Maine St.

Rangeley: Rangeley Police Station, 15 School St.


Raymond: Raymond Fire Department (operated by Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office), 1443 Roosevelt Trail.

Readfield/Wayne: Readfield/Wayne Transfer Station (operated by Kennebec County Sherriff’s Office), 8 Old Kents Hill Road.

Rumford: Rumford Police Department, 150 River St.

Sabattus: Sabattus Police Department, 190 Middle Road. 

Topsham: Topsham Town Hall (operated by Sagadahoc County Sheriff’s office and Topsham Police Department), 100 Main St.

Turner: Turner Fire and Rescue Station, 19 General Turner Hill Road.


Winthrop: Winthrop Police Department, 15 Town Hall Lane.

A complete list of participating sites may be found on the Drug Enforcement Agency’s website.

FMI, sites: 1-800-882-9539,

A trashcan full of empty prescription drug containers is seen at the Oxford County Sheriff’s Office in Paris in 2015. National Prescription Drug Take Back Day is aimed at curbing theft and the environmental hazards of the drugs, which are sometimes flushed down the drain. The surrendered goods with eventually be incinerated.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: