BUCKFIELD — Former Board of Selectmen Chairwoman Cheryl Coffman will rejoin the Board of Selectmen, along with Del Dunn, who left Buckfield roughly 20 years ago, according to town officials. 

Each won a three-year seat on the board in Tuesday’s annual election.

Coffman garnered 90 votes, winning the remainder of outgoing Selectman Mike Iveson’s two-year term. Martha Catevenis, also a former board chairwoman, received 73, according to unofficial results. 

Iveson resigned from the Board of Selectmen last month and his last day is Friday, June 30. He did not resign from the Board of Assessors, according to Town Manager Cindy Dunn, and Iveson still holds that position.

Coffman was unaware she had won the race when contacted Tuesday night.

“Well, gee, I didn’t know,” she said, laughing.


“I am looking forward to representing the wonderful people of this town, I really am,” she said. “I will do my best for them.”

Dunn received 105 votes to opponent Tina Brooks’ 56 votes. He also earned 113 votes for the assessor seat to Brooks’ 48. He will serve a three-year term on the Board of Assessors.

Dunn will take over Chairman Warren Wright’s seat, who opted not to run for re-election.

“All I want to do is make Buckfield the town I left,” Dunn said. “I thought it was a good turnout. I just hope next year we have more than 200 people show up to vote — we have a bigger population than that. That’s my goal — to get the community more involved in the community.”

Regional School Unit 10 Director Jerry Wiley ran unopposed and was re-elected to a three-year term, earning 153 votes. Three people wrote in Dunn for the seat.

[email protected]

Del Dunn

Cheryl Coffman

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.