WASHINGTON, D.CC. — U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue has announced a slate of Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee appointees. State committees are selected by the secretary, serve at the pleasure of the secretary, and are responsible for carrying out FSA’s farm programs within delegated authorities.

“The State Committees will help to ensure USDA is providing our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural producers with the best customer service,” Perdue said. “They serve as a liaison between USDA and the producers in each state across the nation by keeping them informed and hearing their appeals and complaints. The committees are made up mostly of active farmers and ranchers, representing their peers and ensuring USDA’s programs are supporting the American harvest.”

The following Maine State Committees is announced: Committee Chair, Sue McCrum, Belfast; Gregg Garrison, Blaine; Heath Miller, Newburgh; Nancy Ricker, Turner; and David Tuttle, North Berwick

State committees are appointed for a one-year term, which began on Jan. 1. Each committee has five members.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: